Drivers in Oregon certainly have plenty of beautiful places to visit, sites to see, and new tastes to try. However, from Crater Lake to VooDoo Doughnut and all destinations in between, if you want to drive there, you've got to be insured. Oregon auto insurance is right around the middle of rates nationwide ($723 compared to $795), but individual policies can vary so dramatically from provider to provider, there's no excuse to miss out on the savings you could be getting.
How Oregon Auto Insurance Quotes Are Determined
One thing to remember: getting a lower rate on your car insurance doesn't mean you have to raise your deductible or reduce your coverage. While both of these can certainly lower your monthly payments, the risk factors that influence your auto insurance premiums will be viewed differently depending on the provider you're with. For example, one provider may put a huge amount of emphasis on the model of car you drive, while another may put more stock in the fact that you haven't had an accident in the past three years. The difference between each provider might not add up to significant savings in every case, but in some situations, these little variations can mean hundreds of dollars per year.
Lowering Oregon Auto Insurance Rates
No matter what company provides your auto insurance, Oregon drivers can reduce their monthly payments by making a few small adjustments. Oregon auto insurance is likely to be lowered by performing any of the following tasks: voluntarily taking a defensive driving course, increasing your credit score, installing an anti-theft device, taking out another policy with the same provider (like homeowners or renters insurance), or paying your entire premium at once, rather than breaking it up into monthly installments.
Some Oregon auto insurance companies also offer discounts for other reasons. Students with good grades, cars with anti-lock brakes and/or air bags, senior citizens, and even specific makes and models of vehicle may each qualify for discounts.
Oregon Auto Insurance Minimums
If you are still making payments on your vehicle, your lender will have specific minimum requirements for your insurance policy; if you own your vehicle outright, the minimum amount of car insurance you need to stay legal is determined by the state of Oregon. Auto insurance minimums in the Beaver State include not only liability insurance (as is the case in most other states) but personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured motorist insurance, as well. Though every car insurance provider will offer packages that include only these minimum requirements, it is almost always recommended that you carry limits higher than the 25/50/10 ($25,000 bodily injury liability per person/ $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident/ $10,000 property damage liability) limits demanded by Oregon law.
How Oregon Auto Insurance Quotes Can Save You Money
Whether you carry high-limit full coverage or the bare minimum of liability insurance, for drivers in Oregon, auto insurance quotes are one of the most effective tools for determining whether or not lower rates for the policy you want are available. Oregon auto insurance quotes are now available online from NetQuote, making the valuable side-by-side comparisons they offer even easier to get and compare. Simply fill out a brief form, and let NetQuote do the rest. Almost instantly, you'll have local Oregon auto insurance quotes to compare in an easy-to-read format, making the question of whether or not you're paying too much an easy one to answer.