Driving Beneath the Pine Trees: Maine Auto Insurance
As long as you haven’t read too many Stephen King books, the Pine Tree State seems like the perfect place for a weekend drive. You can pile in the car to cruise along the miles of dramatic coastline, or maybe try to spot a moose in the deep forest. The perfect excursion can quickly fall apart, however, if you get into an accident. And if you’re driving without car insurance, the problem is compounded. Maine auto insurance is more affordable than most residents realize. The key is knowing all the facts up front, and then comparing as many Maine insurance quotes as possible. If you do that, even Stephen King won’t be able to scare you away.
Regarding State Laws
If it’s hard to imagine Maine without blueberries, it’s impossible to imagine a smart driver without insurance. According to state law, every driver must purchase a policy with 50/100/25 minimums: bodily injury liability limits of $50,000 per injured person, up to a total of $100,000 per accident, and property damage liability coverage of $25,000. Maine is a tort state, which means that someone will be found at fault in an accident, and then be responsible for the damages. To protect against uninsured and underinsured drivers, the state also requires coverage for these motorists of $50,000 and $100,000, respectively. You’re also required to purchase a medical payment policy of at least $1,000. If you overlook any of these coverages, or allow them to lapse, you’ll likely receive a fine, and possibly be charged with uninsured operation. You might also face suspension of your registration and license. Remember, these minimums are generally a low starting point on Maine auto insurance quotes.
Enhance Your Profile
In Augusta, a 25-year-old waitress who drives a 2007 Toyota Prius to work, with an average daily commute of 16 miles, will pay around $615 a year for the state-required minimum. At her age, she’s right on the cusp of being considered a safer age bracket for insurers-making it a particularly bad time to make a mistake that will stay on her record for a while. Even a turning violation six months ago might drive her annual premium over $900. If she let her insurance lapse the previous month, her new Maine auto insurance quotes will likely jump at least $200. On the other hand, if she pays off the car, changes profession, or achieves a higher education level than her Bachelor’s degree, she should shop around for better Maine auto insurance quotes. There’s usually at least one company-and probably many-who will reward her with a lower premium.
Car insurance for a single person can be expensive. And insuring teenagers? That can make you feel like you’re tossing money into Old Sow. Teens are considered a very high-risk demographic. But if you place your entire family on one policy, you can save hundreds of dollars. In fact, just notifying a potential insurer that you’re married and then placing your spouse on the same policy will uncover much better Maine auto insurance quotes. Let’s take the case of a 40-year-old single man in Portland. He drives a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee 20 miles a day to and from work. His premium for the state minimum coverage? $421. For the same parameters, a married man in Portland, who adds his wife’s 2006 Honda Pilot to his policy, will pay $530 per year-a significant savings per driver. Don’t forget, the less road time you have during a given policy, the less risk to your car insurance. Carpooling or taking the bus will not only save money on gas, but you’ll also find lower auto insurance quotes. Take a look at all the offers. NetQuote.com can do the comparison shopping for you, without charging any money. Once you find the premium you want, you’ll feel like driving to the coast for a lobster dinner.