Taking to the streets of Louisiana without adequate car insurance is like riding a Mardi Gras float without any throws. Traffic moves pretty fast these days on I-10, I-20, and I-49, and it's no picnic in the heart of a city, either. If you don't equip yourself with the proper protections, you put yourself at serious risk should a careless driver come along. Just as your kids might sort through the things they catch at a parade to find the ones they like, you can compare Louisiana insurance quotes to find the policy that works for you.
Obey the Law
As residents of the Bayou State know all too well, traffic law enforcement is a serious matter in Louisiana. State law requires every driver to purchase at least a 15/30/25 policy: bodily injury liability limits of $15,000 per injured person, up to a total of $30,000 per accident, and property damage liability coverage with a minimum limit of $25,000. If you fail to show a police officer proof of these coverages, you could lose your plates, and possibly have your vehicle impounded. Since the Pelican State utilizes a tort system, someone will be found at fault for an accident, and that person is responsible for the damages. There's no law requiring uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but you certainly don't want to find yourself at the bad end of an accident caused by such a driver who has no means to pay for the damages.
Big, Easy Choices
A 30-year-old man in New Orleans who drives a 2003 Hyundai Sonata to work every day will pay around $970 per year for the state minimum car insurance. He can influence his Louisiana auto insurance quotes, however, by the decisions he makes. Certain characteristics view insurance companies to view a customer as higher-risk. If this man received as speeding ticket six months ago, his premium could rise as high as $1,300. Or, if he let his insurance lapse the past month, he may have added a few hundred dollars more to his annual cost. Conversely, if a violation drops off his record, or his credit score improves, he should renew his search for better Louisiana auto insurance quotes.
Streamline the Cost
You can generally uncover lower Louisiana auto insurance quotes if you combine your policy with a home insurance policy. Or, adding a spouse to your policy can consistently save you money. In Baton Rouge, a 40-year-old-woman who drives a 2006 Ford Explorer to work every day will pay an annual premium around $1,172 for the state minimum coverage. But if she adds her husband, and the 2005 Buick LeSabre he drives to work five days a week, to her policy, she'll pay about $1,130 for the entire policy. If some of her circumstances change-a significant change in profession, or owning her car versus financing-she can find even more ways to save money if she shops for better Louisiana auto insurance quotes.
The Perfect Recipe
Your grandmother may make the best jambalaya on the planet, but in the modern insurance world, traditions will only hold you back. The best way to save on your Louisiana auto insurance quotes is to shop around. Insurers want your business, so it pays to compare rates. You can fuel up with a plate of jambalaya and research until your eyes are sore, or you can kick back with a Dixie beer while a convenient service like NetQuote.com gathers the auto insurance quotes for you. Once the lower premiums surface, you'll feel the urge to start whistling Dixie.