Driving Security Kansas Auto Insurance
Kansas may have been founded as the Free State, but even the flat terrain can’t keep auto insurance cost-free. But if you do your homework, there are a number of factors that can keep Kansas auto insurance quotes on the lower end. According to Sandy Praeger, Commissioner of Insurance, approximately 160 companies write personal, auto insurance in Kansas. That means Kansas auto insurance quotes can diverge widely.
Your Standard Kansas Auto Insurance
By law, every resident in the Sunflower State must have the 25/50/10 in liability coverage, or $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for property damage. There are also minimum amounts for Personal injury protection (PIP or No Fault), which will include survivor benefits and in-home services, and for uninsured/underinsured drivers ($25,000/person, $50,000/accident). This last bit of information is important –despite the fact that Kansas has a “no fault” system, coverage for under-/uninsured drivers is still required.
All of these standards figure in your Kansas auto insurance quotes, but is the minimum what you need? The most common liability coverage is the 100/300/50: $100,000 per person for bodily injury, $300,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $50,000 per accident for property damage. Remember, if you’re caught driving without insurance in Kansas, you’ll be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, which means a fine (usually $300-1,000) and possibly the maximum jail time of six months.
How Much Will Your Kansas Auto Insurance Cost?
Typically, you’ll pay around $600 per every six months for auto insurance in Kansas, which is less than the approximately $800 national average for a six-month premium. Age, gender, and where you live all influence Kansas auto insurance premiums. But even these factors can’t give you a definite price. In Wichita, basic coverage for a 35-year-old male ranges from $246 (for a 6-month premium) to more than $768. In Topeka, premium coverage for a 55-year-old female commonly costs between $206 and $730. As you can see, nothing is set in stone for the costs of auto insurance in Kansas.
Lowering Your Kansas Auto Insurance Quotes
Whether you’re driving up to Mount Sunflower or down along the Verdigris River, Kansas auto insurance quotes are bound to look a little friendlier if you mind these helpful hints. It goes without saying that proven safe drivers –those without accident history and with a clean driving record –will get lower premiums. But did you know that safety equipment such as airbags, or the fact that you carpool to work, can save you money on your auto insurance policy? Insurance companies will calculate average costs in a particular city based partially on driving time. In Overland Park, the average resident spends 19.5 minutes driving to work. Prove that you spend less time in your car daily, and you’ll see your cost go down. Theft is also a concern. In Topeka, there are three times as many stolen cars as in Lawrence. Your insurer will also know this type of information, so anti-theft devices can lower your cost. You can often save by putting multiple vehicles on the same policy, too. And don’t forget to gain as much knowledge as possible, whether you shop around or take advantage of a service like NetQuote.