Florida law targets most dangerous drivers
A new Florida law will help consumers and car insurance companies save money by requiring the state's worst traffic offenders to take driving classes.A new Florida law will help consumers and car insurance companies save money by requiring the state's worst traffic offenders to take driving classes.
A report in the St. Petersburg Times describes the law, which takes effect on January 1, 2010. According to the newspaper, people who cause three accidents over the course of three years will be required to enroll in a driving class that includes mandatory tests and instruction in both vehicles and classrooms.
The newspaper also noted that offenders who are deemed eligible for this program are statistically likely to have a variety of other motor vehicle violations and other such issues on their record. About 3,200 drivers statewide were said to currently fall into this category.
Elsewhere, a report on CNN.com notes that people can end up in driving school for more positive reasons - like saving money on their auto insurance.
The article goes on to say that many major insurance companies are providing customers with discounts of between 5 percent and 15 percent for up to three years if they complete a driving safety course.
Learn how easy and convenient shopping for auto insurance can be. Get your free auto insurance quotes today!
Posted: July 15, 2009
Related Auto Insurance Articles
- The Rising Costs of Car Insurance Rates
- Discounts for Auto and Home Insurance
- Get Affordable Auto Insurance
- Don't Hesitate to Solicit a Free Auto Insurance Quote
- Cheap Car Insurance for Young Drivers